Melting Snowman

Looking out my window
I see a snowman melting
In a slow winter’s rain.
One week ago he didn’t exist.
Created out of youthful joy,
He came to life from the depths
Of little-girl imagination.
Once a praised sculpture
Adorned with scarf and smile,
Now he exists only as
A forgotten puddle of ice,
Misshapen and waning.
The transient nature of a snowman
Causes me to pause and reflect
On the brevity of life
And the short span I have to
Impact the earth around me
Before I melt away.

Leave a Reply

