Gone Before I Got Here

Sitting at a school lunch table,
Chew, swallow, talk, pose, pretend.
I was gone before I got here.

Standing along the wall watching the crowd,
Talk, joke, laugh, sit, smile.
I was gone before I got here.

Sitting in a back row pew,
Sing, stand, sit, kneel, pray.
I was gone before I got here.

Gone before I got here,
My heart’s not really in it.
In the crowd, but not belonging,
I go through the motions–
Looking at the superficiality of how things are
While wondering what’s deeper.

Walking purposefully through life,
Striving not to be
Gone before I got here.

4 thoughts on “Gone Before I Got Here

Leave a Reply

