Battling my Demons

From time to time, I’ll share some of my old poetry. For starters, here’s one I wrote while I was struggling with depression.

I lay here, on my face, in this deep dark place.
They whisper. The voices all around me,
Through me,
In my head.
“Worthless.” “Hopeless!” “Miserable and weak.”
My head sinks lower.
The ground is covered by the dew of my tears.
Darkness. The menacing blackness threatens to crush me in this, the night of my despair.
In the twilight, I feel a hand of mercy comfort and uplift.
I raise my eyes– I see the blood-stained hands.
Immanuel. God with us. God with me.
He has been in the dark lonely pit before,
And He is lifting my head– showing me the way out.

July 10, 2008

5 thoughts on “Battling my Demons

  1. Ohh… how sad was the situation!! But I was very happy to see the hope and rays of light towards the end of the poem..
    Yes, there is always a way out! And I am glad you found it too!

    Thank you for sharing this beautifully composed experienced and poem with our poetry potluck! We are excited to see you here!! Your participation is most appreciated!

Leave a Reply

