Whitewashed Sepulchers

The title of this blog is derived from Matthew 23:27-28– “Woe to you, teachers of the law and Pharisees, you hypocrites! You are like whitewashed tombs, which look beautiful on the outside but on the inside are full of dead men’s bones and everything unclean. In the same way, on the outside you appear to people as righteous but on the inside you are full of hypocrisy and wickedness.”

The leadership of our church decided several months ago to change the name of the church building since it was named after the streets the building was originally at the corners of, and the street names had changed in the last century. Under my breath, I said that the Church of the Whitewashed Sepulcher would be perfect- pretty on the outside, but a lot of old bones on the inside. But, of course, the congregation decided to simply change the name to match the name of the street the building currently sits on. How pointless. I saw so much opportunity with the change of a name to change the hearts and attitudes underneath, to make a statement of change, grace, and fresh starts. You can paint over a tomb, but it still holds decaying old bones.

4 thoughts on “Whitewashed Sepulchers

  1. Would you mind if I put the last post you created on my blog? I really like your thoughts about the verse and title of your blog. It is so true about some of the churches today. It is also a reminder of how not to live out lives.

    • Sure, Staci- I don’t mind if you repost.

      I have to try really hard some days to not be overly negative about church and ‘religious people,’ and that’s not the intent behind the title at all. To me it’s simply about looking deeper, behind the facade of things. Some things look good and pure on the outside but have death underneath a few layers. Some things (or people) look hard and rough and messy on the outside, but there’s a gem underneath waiting to be explored. That’s really the idea that was in my head when I titled my blog after that verse- about not taking the surface value of things and looking for depth underneath the trappings.

      • That is exactly how I was going to post it….that is why my email has been beautyfromwithin for the longest time. Thanks!

  2. You and me both about the change of the name. A boring heart of faith will always be a boring heart of faith if they don’t push themselves to blossom into another for of faith. Learn…continue to learn…strive…

    One thing I have learned since that name change. I can strive to be what I am meant to be and they can stay in the black and white areas of everything. I can push myself to the areas I know God is calling me. Do we want the people around us to be with us and do even go even more in depth of it all? DUH! That need not stop us.

Leave a Reply

